‘Teachers of the Year’ From Local Schools

By EGP News Service

A teacher at Franklin High School in Highland Park and a teacher from Esteban Torres High school in East Los Angeles are among the 17 teachers chosen by the Los Angeles Unified School District to receive the LAUSD’s Teacher of the Year (TOY) award, given for superior and creative teaching, according to the district.

The winners include Franklin High School teacher Samuel C. Kullens and Esteban Torres High School teacher Luis E. Machuca.

Samuel C. Kullens has been at Franklin for 9 years and teaches AP U.S. History. Luis E. Machuca has been teaching special education at the Social Justice Leadership Academy at Torres since the school opened two years ago.

“Congratulations to our exemplary and dedicated LAUSD TOY winners,” said Superintendent John E. Deasy in a press release. “These scholars of education represent the best of the best in the LAUSD.”

The 17 teachers selected for the award qualify for the 2012-2013 L.A. County Teachers of the Year competition.

Print This Post Print This Post

June 14, 2012  Copyright © 2012 Eastern Group Publications, Inc.


Comments are intended to further discussion on the article topic. EGPNews reserves the right to not publish, edit or remove comments that contain vulgarities, foul language, personal attacks, racists, sexist, homophobic or other offensive terminology or that contain solicitations, spam, or that threaten harm of any sort. EGPNews will not approve comments that call for or applaud the death, injury or illness of any person, regardless of their public status. Questions regarding this policy should be e-mailed to service@egpnews.com.

 characters available

Copyright © 2018 Eastern Group Publications/EGPNews, Inc. ·