Neighborhood Councils Elect Representatives

Eagle Rock election flyers create controversy.

By EGP Staff Report

Results are in for the neighborhood council elections that took place last week. Seven out of eight neighborhood councils in the East and Northeast areas of Los Angeles held their elections, where residents elected some new community leaders and reelected a few already serving.

The elections did not go without controversy however. The Los Angeles Times reported that pro-marijuana dispensary fliers offering $40 worth of free medical marijuana to anyone who could show proof they voted, were allegedly circulated in the Eagle Rock neighborhood.

The newspaper reported that workers at several Eagle Rock dispensaries said they did not know who was responsible for the fliers.

Stephen Box, the senior project coordinator for Empower LA, which oversees neighborhood councils, told EGP the rumored flyers were out of his office’s jurisdiction and had no affect on their election results.

“Its easy for people to vote and hard for people to cheat,” Box told EGP. “We have no pending issues to resolve.”

Residents of Eagle Rock elected Michael Nogueira as their neighborhood council president, Ashley Atkinson as their treasurer and Caroline Roncalli as their youth director.

For the Historic Highland Park neighborhood Council, Monica Alcaraz was elected president, Hector Huezo was elected first vice president, Alex Delgadillo was elected second vice president, Brandin Engersbach was elected secretary and Joan Potter was elected as the neighborhood council treasurer.

In the Arroyo Seco area, residents voted for representatives for their five individual neighborhoods. Andrea Moran and Judy Shane were elected to represent Hermon. Roy Payan and Martha Benedict were elected as Montecito Heights representatives, Judy Knapton and Darius Adle were elected for Monterey Hills, Andrea Jayasekera, Valerie Harragin, Andrew Ptashnik and Paul Jacques were elected Mount Washington representatives and Sergio Vidal-Echeverria and Joseph Riser were elected Sycamore Grove representatives.

In addition to choosing 14 community representatives, residents of Boyle Heights elected four area-representatives: Aurelia Pelayo in area 1; Sierra Jenkins area two; Luz Montoya-Ruiz in area three and Ernesto Espinoza will represent area four.

Residents in Glassell Park elected Bradley (he does not use a last name) to represent area one; Maggie Darret-Quiroz to area two; Maggie Robles in area four; Arlene Santos to area five and Martin Gregorito to area six The residents also elected Michael Divic to be their at-large representative

In Lincoln Heights, Nanci Rosas was elected president, Martha Riley was elected secretary and David Lopez was elected the neighborhood council’s youth representative.

In the LA-32 area, stakeholders elected directors for their North, East, South and West regions. They also elected Conception Castro, Edward Santillan, Tammy Membreno and Anthony Manzano as at-large directors.

Box told EGP the results of the elections would become official Thursday evening. For more information on the election results visit

Print This Post Print This Post

October 18, 2012  Copyright © 2012 Eastern Group Publications, Inc.


Comments are intended to further discussion on the article topic. EGPNews reserves the right to not publish, edit or remove comments that contain vulgarities, foul language, personal attacks, racists, sexist, homophobic or other offensive terminology or that contain solicitations, spam, or that threaten harm of any sort. EGPNews will not approve comments that call for or applaud the death, injury or illness of any person, regardless of their public status. Questions regarding this policy should be e-mailed to

 characters available

Copyright © 2018 Eastern Group Publications/EGPNews, Inc. ·