‘Champion Mothers’ Honored by LAUSD

By EGP Staff Report

More than 40 mothers were honored during the 4th Annual Guillermina Awards hosted by Los Angeles Unified School Board President Monica García.

The awards honored the women for the “courageous work” and leadership in Board District 2, represented by García

Local community organizations and school partners nominated the women, according to García’s office, which said the award is named for Garcia’s own mother, Guillermina Corrales García.

The award “serves as a symbol of the strength of women and role they play in their child’s life and education,” according to García’s office.

“Celebrating amazing women inspires all of us to share our gifts and talents to make our world a better place for our students and community,” García said

The honorees are: Ana Maria Mejia, Youth Policy Institute; Aracely Contreras, Youth Policy Institute; Aracely Soto Vasquez, Salesian Boys and Girls Club; Bertilla Amaya, Youth Policy Institute; Carla Abeyta, Bienvenidos; Claudia Lopez, Alliance for a Better Community; Delmira Gonzalez, Proyecto Pastoral; Diana Juarez, Puente Learning Center; Elsa Molina, L.A’s Promise; Elvia Teck, Youth Policy Institute; Esmeralda Bermudez, VELA; Esther Escamilla, Alliance for a Better Community; Flor Rodriguez, CLEAN Carwash Campaign; Gladis Navarrete, Youth Policy Institute; Gladys Sandoval, Advancement Project; Hilda Linares, L.A’s Promise; Holly Priebe-Diaz, Project SPIN; Iliana Estrada, Youth Policy Institute; Isis Quan, Youth Policy Institute; Jennifer Ambrillo, Families that Can; Lora Allen, Community Coalition; Machery Banks, Communities in Schools; Maria Cordova, L.A Boys & Girls Club; Maria Cristina Mauricio, CLEAN Carwash Campaign; Maria Galvan, CHIRLA; Maria Hernandez, Youth Policy Institute; Maria Marilu Mireles, Youth Policy Institute; Maria Marquez, Para los Niños; Maria Tunchez, APALC; Mi Sook Kim, CLEAN Carwash Campaign; Miriam Inzunza, Families in Schools; Norma Pimentel, ESC East; Odilia Pablo, Communities in Schools; Ofelia Sosa, Youth Policy Institute; Rachel Keipp, Communities in Schools; Rebeca Zazueta, Eastmont Community Center; Reina Villatoro, Community Coalition; Thanh Vuong, APALC; Yolanda Ramirez, Centro Latino for Literacy; Yolanda Rodriguez, Office of Councilmember Jose Huizar; Yvette Archie, Communities in Schools.

Print This Post Print This Post

May 30, 2013  Copyright © 2012 Eastern Group Publications, Inc.


Comments are intended to further discussion on the article topic. EGPNews reserves the right to not publish, edit or remove comments that contain vulgarities, foul language, personal attacks, racists, sexist, homophobic or other offensive terminology or that contain solicitations, spam, or that threaten harm of any sort. EGPNews will not approve comments that call for or applaud the death, injury or illness of any person, regardless of their public status. Questions regarding this policy should be e-mailed to service@egpnews.com.

 characters available

Copyright © 2018 Eastern Group Publications/EGPNews, Inc. ·